All you need to do is meet the right kinda Ghoul

     I’ve been hanging out on the OneMonk Fourms and I’ve definitely caught the Paper Minis bug. I already have a huge collection of metal and plastic minis, from more manufactureres than I can count, but I really like the concept of printing minis on demand and having attractive units of finished models with very little turn around time, so I decided to build a new army.

     When the Vampire Counts army came out for Warhammer Fantasy I was instantly drawn to them. I really loved the old undead army rules from previous editions, when mummies and vampires were all together, and lost interest in it when they sperated them into Khemri and the Vampire Bloodline Dominated army lists. My beloved Necromancers are still playing second fiddle to Vampires, but with the bloodlines just fluff now,  the beautifull new plastic model support, and competitive army list I was bespelled all over again.

     My love for the undead would remain unrequieted. I was on the rebound from an intense relationship with the Ogre Kingdoms. The Ogres were big and powerfull, and brutally sexy, at first. In the span of a month I had surrounded myself with enough Ogres for 3 armies. I got in too deep, too fast.

     I have kids these days. Assembling and painting an army is like maintaining a clingy mistress. Having to wait untill the wife and kids were in bed. Hiding the expenses from my wife. It just wasn’t worth the reward. For all the Ogres glorious brutatlity they were fatally weak against magic, and all my openents knew it. When my wife started to suspect me of foul play, I knew I would have to stop deluding myself. Orgre Kingdoms with all thier beauty, just weren’t for me…

     Some men get lost in drink, I burried myself in an even more dangerous addiction, onile gaming. Me and City of Heroes have had a thing going ever since her sexy self showed up about 5 years ago, and she’s stil my ever willing booty call. I was weak, and after a brief pause to update her files, she proved to be a willing server. She’d spruced herself up a bit since I’d last seen her and we were hot and heavy for about 3 months, untill I noticed my buddies weren’t around as much. I ran into one of them by chance and I found why.

     As good as COH had been to all of us, they had been seduced by another, and all they could say as WOW. WOW she looks hot. WOW she is soo easy to please. WOW she wants you to join us and party with her together. WOW she is really into having a group thing with you. The way they were talking her up I was sure she would leaving saying WOW as well. WOW, she put out on the first date, and every other date after that. 

    McDonalds serves more people than any other resturaunt in the world. It’s not actually better, or even good for your, just really cehap and easy. After 4 months I was begning to just go through the motions. When you have to fake enthusiam for a relationship yoou should move on.

    My booty call was just as willing as ever. Another 3 months of bliss and then I just found myself not answering her call. I let my subscription to services just run out and quietly walked away…

    The call of the undead had been tickling in my mind. A Twilight, True Blood, Blood Ties, 17 Anita Blake novels, topped of with 9 Sookie Stackhouse novels, and then every zombie movie Fear Net and a DVD collection could  provide I needed to do something hands on. By chance I heard someone mention All Things Zombie: Better Dead than Zed and I was instantly hooked. Sure it’s not making nookie with a hot undead chick, but smashing shambling dead with blunt objects has an appeal as well.

ATZ leads to collecting more miniatures and terrain…

Lousy economy means watching what I spend…

Being frugal leads to building my own terrain and converting figures…

Leads to using cardstock terrain…

Leads to Cardstock miniatures and the OneMonk forums…

Having a laser printer, some 110lb cardstock, and the right PDFs leads to the possibility of and UNDEAD ARMY OF UNHEARD OF PROPORTIONS!!!!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

